Archive for January 28, 2010

Week 2 Summary

Oh boy, oh boy…where do I start?

This week was actually quite fun, once I got past the overwhelming learning on Lynda.com and reading on the AACC site.  I learned about hyperlinks and what the difference is between an absolute and relative link.  An absolute link, to put it simply, is to link the user to someone else’s website or on a page you don’t personally own and  placed anywhere on your site; where a relative link pertains to the page the link is placed on.

I also learned what attributes make up a link tag.  These attributes are the opening link tag (<A HREF=), destination (“page1.html”>), label (Click to visit Page One!), and closing link tag(</A>) (using <A HREF=”page1.html”>Click to visit Page One!</A>).  The A tag would be used when inserting a hyperlink.

And in the videos via Lynda.com, I mainly learned the different ways to use Dreamweaver’s workspace.  For example, the different views such as design, code, and split.  This is so useful in a WYSIWYG program because different people have different preferences.  Some people may prefer the design side, such as myself, whereas others would prefer the code side.  Regardless, I found out this week when running into a problem in the design space, that it is awesome to have the ability to look at the code side simultaneously.  My text and links weren’t appearing the way that they did in Notepad++ so I figured something tiny got altered in the code.  Thus, having the ability to open both the design and code views was useful in making sure I fixed the problem and that it appeared correctly.

I look forward to next week and continuing to build my knowledge of how to make my own websites.